Random Bits of Projects

November 23, 2009

Suction Cup Plant Hanger as a Pet Bird Perch.

A few years ago I was looking for a way to put a perch in my shower so my parrotlet could hang out when I was in there. The pet shop perches that had suction cups to stick to smooth surfaces were expensive and huge. I eventually found plant hangers with suction cups that worked perfect!

(that is black grout, not mildew in the picture-ha)


These hangers can hold up to 6 pounds so they are pretty secure. They are good for holding small wild bird feeders and hummingbird feeders as well. I have smooth tile in my shower so the hanger/perch sticks just fine. My parrotlet loves to sit on one foot, puff out his feathers and sing while I am in there (the perch is not in the spray). I also put one on a mirror so he can perch there too (make sure nothing is below that he can poop on – toothbrushes). I hang a toy off of the loop but he likes to unhook it and throw the toy. Maybe that is a hint?

I have also put a few outside near large feeders under my eves. They do not hold anything but provide extra perches while birds wait their turn at the feeder. I get to get a good look at them since they are attached to the window.

This idea definitely works for small birds and probably up to med/small parrots as well. True, they do hold up to 6 pounds but hook billed birds tend to like to chew on the suction cups. I found it worse for conure size parrots than for the small parrotlet size parrots. The bigger guys can pull the perch right out from under their feet before you can stop them. The conure I tried this with did eventually leave the cups alone. So the chewing is a drawback.

The other thing to remember is to poke the cups secure once in awhile. Just push on them to renew their suction. Often you will hear a “pop” as you push the air out. Sometimes a little bit of moisture or a light bit of forehead oil on the cups help them stick. Yeah, the oil is gross but it works better than water or saliva.

Timid birds might not take to the perch as easily. You may have to show them it is great by putting your hand on there and get excited and happy while they watch. Do not push it if the bird does not want to go at first or the bird will become afraid. Just try again later. Also, if the bird seems unsure about it all when on the perch, do not leave him alone. Stick around for support. Eventually he will relax. Bolder birds will take to it faster or right away.

Where can you get these? I have seen them at Lowes and Wild Birds Unlimited. Try garden departments/stores.

Have fun!

2 Comments »

  1. Very good Tips ! Thanks !

    Comment by Florea — April 14, 2010 @ 3:44 am | Reply

    • Thanks! Glad it was useful! Left your link up. Useful. šŸ™‚

      Comment by virtuallyamy — April 14, 2010 @ 8:52 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment