Random Bits of Projects

November 19, 2010

Tiny Little Black Bug Infestation? (You might have weevils.)

If you are reading this, then you might have been noticing tiny black bugs all over your house. They look sort of like fleas that crawl slowly but do not jump. I think these are a type of weevil. When you get a few, like roaches, you will have a lot. How do you get rid of them? Where did they come from? This article is about how I dealt with them while at the same time not harming my pets (or children if you have them). It is not an overnight solution, but I finally got rid of them using this method, to the point that I might not have  a picture for you any time soon. This also saved me from getting the bug guy in. Always the budget. Sigh.

First of all, where did they come from (well mine)? My little visitors came from a bag of wild bird seed that I forgot I had in a closet. (I could not store it outside without it spoiling or critters getting into it. ) This  is not unusual and can be avoided if you freeze bird feed products and any other grains in the freezer for at least 24 hours. I would even do this with pet bird seed. This is a pain if you bought a big bag but find a way to do it before keeping it in your home. This will also kill off moth larvae and other nasties. This is not your source? Try looking at any grain based food you have in your cabinets. Otherwise I am not sure  where you got them or yours may not be the same critter.

If you find the source, just get rid of it. There will be more eggs and adults in there. Start over. Clean that location very well.

What to do?

Seal all of your grains in bags. Freeze them if you feel worried any got in.  This includes your cereals, flour products, chips, etc. These guys breed like wild fire. Let us not add fuel to it. Keep in the habit of keeping your grains sealed.

Look in every closet, nook, and cranny. If you find them, go ahead and spray roach killer along the edges if this will not harm your pets or kids. Vacuum the place and clean.. My thinking is try to knock out the first wave as best you can.

Since I was limited to where I could spray due to cats and fish tank air pumps, I tried the following with success thought it takes patience. Get roach motel-type traps. A lot of them. The black, plastic disk kind where the roaches go in one of several entrances to eat poison but can get out again. There are some that also come with packs that sterilize the roaches. Try those too. I know the poison works, but I had no way to know if the sterilizers work. But its worth putting down with the poison traps just in case. Place them as suggested by the packaging.

These roach traps will not say anything about weevils but it works. Go nuts with them. Do not forget to put them in cabinets as well. The poison is tucked away safe in these.  In the areas where you see them the most, put several along those walls. They get up into cracks and stay there. I also found that they like moisture. So the bathroom may be popular. You should soon start seeing dead little bodies all around the motels. Sweep them up and shake out the motels into the trash or they will build up in there. If your infestation is bad, you will have to do this for awhile. But eventually they do go away. It took me months and a lot of traps. It was a BIG bag of seed. Ick. And I do not have bug problems otherwise.

These guys do not suck blood or go after you and your pets so do not worry about that. They are harmless though creepy. They are not bed bugs either. But keep bedding off of the floor where they travel. They may accidentally end up in there.

Hang in there. If you do clear them out, continue to put down the traps. These guys are small so a few may still be around that you have not yet noticed.

Hope this helps! Good luck.

4 Comments »

  1. Oh my! I thought I was the only one. I have used 7-dust and had a professional come in that told me at first it was a nat. Needles to say these little things are still here even after a cold winter which I thought would kill them. Thanks for posting. I have 4 cats, a dog and most importantly a 5 year old with many play dates and would not want anyone to get hurt or sick!

    Comment by Anita — March 20, 2011 @ 11:21 am | Reply

    • HI!
      I hope it helps! Last time I bring in bird seed like that. I debated on whether to post this at all as I did not want the world to think I had a dirty house. But these were not due to that. It still takes forever to knock these out but hopefully this will work for you. Good luck!!

      Comment by virtuallyamy — March 20, 2011 @ 1:41 pm | Reply

  2. I also store my 50lb bag of bird seed in our food pantry. As I scooped out two large scoops & went to put the scoop back, there was a long trail of tiny thin black bugs in the bag. I took the bag outside & emptied it, but now I still see a few on the walls. I took all of my boxed items out, but should I clean off all of the shelves & leave my food out of the pantry until I know they are all gone? Haven’t seem them before today. But I have lots of groceries & the pantry is off the side of the kitchen. I did spray around the baseboards & in the cracks of the pantry with Bayer Advanced indoor & outdoor bug spray. I’m exhausted & don’t want to throw all of my food away.

    Comment by LuAnn Kinney — July 14, 2011 @ 7:01 pm | Reply

    • Awful isn’t it? You did well cleaning out all that you could. Gets up any eggs. If you seal cereal items in a bag (for instance, my hot cereal mixes are stored, box and all, in a gallon size zip lock), you can put it all back. The bag is less to preserve your food and more for keeping out unwelcome visitors. If you want to be sure no one is alive in your food, freeze it over night.
      Go ahead and throw some of those roach traps down in case any are still around in your house. I put one in my cabinet as well where food cannot directly touch it until I finally got rid of them. Took some time.
      Good luck!!! Freeze your bird feed for a few days in the future. It is a pain but it will kill the eggs and adults. The birds do not care if they are there but we do!

      Comment by virtuallyamy — July 15, 2011 @ 1:24 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

