Random Bits of Projects

August 4, 2008

Knitting Links

  • This post is dedicated to links related to knitting. I have not tried all of the patterns posted yet but I will mark them with an ” * ” if I did. I will blog about any I did as well.

Feel free to leave input if you try them. Keep checking back for more.

Link Categories so far are General Knitting Links, Knitting Instructions, and Free Patterns (including charity knitting), and Not Free, But Worth Mentioning, Holiday Knits, Vote!

Last Update: March 07, 2009. A free Alan Dart Easter pattern. Chick and eggs. Listed under Spring Holiday Knits.

November 13, 2008. Another charity doll pattern added in charity knits and mini Christmas stockings in Holiday knits.

Oct 31: Now in the works in free patterns….Holiday Knits! I hope to represent a multitude of holidays over time as I come across patterns. It might take awhile. Please do not think I am leaving anyone out.

October 31. Link to a basic doll pattern to knit.

Sorry about how this post looks. It is messy. I have WordPress issues with this one. One of these days I will rewrite the entire thing and see what new issues I have with it.

General Knitting Links

Ravelry.com: http://www.ravelry.com/ !!!Friend me: virtuallyamy!!! This site is fantastic. You can social network other knitters, find 100s of patterns, show off your work, organize your work and supplies, and much more. It is worth the 2-4 day waiting list.

Knitting Daily:

http://www.knittingdaily.com/Default.aspx

Knitting Instructions!

If you would like to learn to knit socks or if you are having problems, this site is perfect. Clear instructions and the pictures are actually helpful. You may still want a knitting book along side but this site is valuable. There are a few classes ranked according to skill level. I am always checking back on this site, especially around the gusset. You do need to know some knitting already.

Free Patterns!!!!

Toys: Geek Knits

  • Dr. Who – Dalek:

http://www.entropyhouse.com/penwiper/who/extermaknit.html

  • Companion Cube:

http://knittedcompanioncube.blogspot.com/

Toys: Stuffed Animals and Dolls

  • Cute elephant:

http://www.knitterella.com/SusanBAnderson/ElefantePattern.pdf Good for baby knits. I intend to leave out the filling to weigh the feet and install a rattle in the main body for a friend’s baby. For myself I plan to leave as is.    This next link shows how to do the ears. I do not want to crochet so I will likely come up with a knit version.  http://susanbanderson.blogspot.com/search?q=elephant

  • Nautie the Nautilus by Beth Skwarecki:

http://knitty.com/ISSUEspring06/PATTnautie.html

Adorable turtle. His shell is a separate piece so it fits over the little guy like a sweater. Worth the look! Other sites have made costumes for him in place of the shell. Keep an eye out for those!

http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter06/PATTsheldon.html

I finished this one. I modified it to look like my live crayfish (under fish categories to the right). For details go to https://virtuallyamy.wordpress.com/2008/09/30/knitting-blue-crayfish/
where wrote a post about it with a few pictures. The lobster pattern itself is fantastic without changes as well.

Basic knit doll- see below towards the end of charity knits.

Charity:

The following are specifically for charity knitting in mind by who made them. Some a specific charity. But do check other stuffed toys/dolls outside of this section for ideas too. Many places are not picky what you donate and there are other simple patterns.

http://www.squidoo.com/african-knit-dolls Knit dolls for charity. Easy to make and for a good cause. These are for African Aids Children. You can play around with this pattern all you want. They will also take any knitted doll for this charity (we contacted them and they said all is good!). I really like these guys. Information on where to ship should be here too for both US and Canada. If not, contact me and I think I can track down the addresses.


  • Charity Knit: Hococo the Lemure for Madagascar Children

Hococo, the knitted lemur has been raising money to help save lives in Madagascar. Commissioned from internationally renowned knitted toy designer Alan Dart, the lemur pattern was given free to customers of a major shoe company, who were then encouraged to knit, sell or raffle the toy. Money raised is being sent direct to the Money for Madagascar charity and, with over £1,000 raised so far, ten babies and children have already received life-saving surgery. The company would like to extend the offer of a free pattern to anyone who would like to knit the lemur and help raise funds for children in Madagascar.   Email: m.killilea@hotter.co.uk (corrected)

Note: She really does get back with you fast. I have the pattern and hope to donate a lemur soon.

This doll is just a basic body that can then be modified to however you would like. I put this in response for so many people looking for doll patterns. Unlike the charity knit dolls above, this one has no clothes, face pattern, or hair. If you do not want to knit separate clothes, just knit the limbs in clothing colors, switching colors for hands, feet, and head. Kind of a neat, all around doll. It is a free pattern from Canadian Living. I have not knit it but it looks to be fairly easy.  http://www.canadianliving.com/crafts/knitting/a_basic_doll_to_knit.php

Clothes:

  • Main Morning Mitts (Fingerless Mittens) from “Knitters Book of Yarn”

http://www.knittersreview.com/article_how_to.asp?article=/review/profile/071011_b.asp

  • Noro Fingerless Mitts by Michelle Molis:

http://mimoknits.typepad.com/knitting/2006/12/noro_fingerless.html

Cozies:

This is an easy, fast knit. Great for little gifts or something to do when you do not have time for a large project. There is a plain version (good for multi-colored yarn) with some desing to it and a fancier textured version in the instructions. Newer knitters can knit this though a few of the instructions might confuse. I learned to do buttons holes (with a book) and another increase with this one. I am adding more buttons so I can use it for more than a coffee mug. For experienced knitters, this pattern allows for customizing.

  • Soda Can Cozy: by Melanie Thompson

http://lilknitofthisandthat.blogspot.com/2007/09/soda-can-cozyfree-pattern.html This is a fitted cozy that will fit cans.

Holiday Knits

Fall

Winter

Spring

  • Chick and Egg: http://www.alandart.co.uk/products/product/38 This is an Alan Dart pattern posted free! Very cute!


Not Free But Very Much Worth Mentioning

Toys: Stuffed Animals

  • Hansigurami (Knit!) by Hansi Singh:

http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5162135

Wonderfully done knit toys (and not the usual stuff). She does amazing work and her attention to detail is fantastic. The patterns are not expensive and they come with detailed instructions and pictures. She will also answer questions through email if you need help. It is hard to find good knit hansigurami so do check this site out.

Alan Dart Toys

These toys are amazing. Your jaw will drop when you see these adorable toys. This site lists a few of his patterns available for download. If you do not live in the UK, many of his patterns are hard to find so this is a real treat. They average about 5 dollars US and paid by Paypal. You will not see your local currency right away but you will see it before you finalize payment. Just figure double the listed price if you are from the US.I have not knit any of these yet but it looks like you do not have to be an advanced knitter. You do need to be more than a beginner though. I would consider myself intermediate but not solidly so and I think I can do these. (I am still trying to find Shaun the Sheep from Wallace and Gromit without going through ebay.)

http://www.alandart.co.uk/pages/products

Many, many more to come. Check back! I add when I have time.

For more stuff to learn to do or read about go to my main site at https://virtuallyamy.wordpress.com. There are more than one page of things to do. I try to add more projects when I can.

Vote Below!

I like to add more links as I can. To make the most of it I would like to be sure I am putting what people are actually looking for here. So feel free to vote below what type of knitting you like best! Vote for more than one if you cannot decide! 🙂

4 Comments »

  1. RE: Charity Knit: Hococo the Lemur for Madagascar Children
    email address error…
    –To obtain a copy of the pattern, Mellanie can be emailed at m.killilea@hotter.co.uk

    Comment by Sonia — September 1, 2008 @ 2:07 pm | Reply

  2. RE: Sonia above…

    Thank you!!! I corrected it. I appreciate your pointing that out. I would not have caught that any time soon. Let me know if you knit one, I cannot wait to start mine. It will be awhile though.

    Comment by virtuallyamy — September 1, 2008 @ 3:17 pm | Reply

  3. Just want to say that I made the slippers which were posted Oct.2005!! My daughter found it for her
    mother, cuz she wanted me to make some for her & husband!! So I did and really enjoyed doing them &
    now am going to make more!! It was really a great pattern for this old lady!!! Once you start there’s
    no stopping … fine for me because you can more or less carry it in your head!! Best pattern I ever
    worked and trying to find it again so I can send copy to friends. Thanks for such great patterns so
    that those of us on a fixed, low income can really get great ones, inc. the lobster I downloaded today!!
    How to Knit Slippers was and IS a great one…thanks again and wish I had found it sooner!!!
    Love ya,
    Ruthie

    Comment by Ruthie — October 20, 2009 @ 10:08 am | Reply

    • Yay!! I am glad you found things you can use! Yes, that site is fantastic. I have not made the slippers yet but hope to do so. Behind on everything including adding more patterns. For a bunch more join ravelry.com. It is free and a wonderful site.
      Thank you so much for letting me know! 🙂

      Comment by virtuallyamy — October 24, 2009 @ 10:32 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment