Random Bits of Projects

November 16, 2008

French Press Review-The Big Bodum

Just popping in. As of 2011, I really do like the Big Bodum. It is worth getting. If you are new to french presses, there will be a few things to get used to, but the flavor is much richer.

Old post below, maybe it will still be helpful. I hope to rewrite it within a reasonable time.

________

I have had a small french press for years and liked it very well. Due to this, I figured bigger would be better so I can easily share with my husband without having to make one mug at a time. I came across a sale and purchased a 12 cup (4 regular mugs) Bodum french press. My original was Bodum so I wanted to stick to the brand since I liked it very much.

  • Brand: Bodum
  • Model: Chambord
  • Size: 12 cup. 1.5L/51 oz.


I like it, but so far I am preferring my little one better. I have had this one for only two weeks so I am still working out how much coffee to put in the thing. So far it takes about twice as much coffee as a drip coffee maker. But I do like strong coffee. This one also has more powder in the coffee when compared to the little one. Powdery coffee is not big deal to me since I have gotten used to it since having switched to a reusable “gold” filter for my drip maker, but it may be an issue to anyone not used to it. I do like this coffee better than the drip but less so than my stove top espresso maker. Hard to compare the latter, though, since that is very strong coffee. Kind of a different category there. 😉

It does take a few extra steps in the morning to prepare so I wait until the weekend. I am not that motivated in the morning for those few extra, simple steps (that and my husband will prepare the drip coffee while I am still rolling out of bed).

I boil the water in my electric kettle and then pour it into the press with the coffee. Then I stir (with a plastic utensil to protect the glass), put on the lid, and let sit for about 5 minutes or a little longer. After pushing down the plunger and pouring our cups, I pour the remaining coffee into a thermos to keep it warm. My little press has only one way on which you can fit the lid. The large one does not have this so you have to be sure the slits for pouring are facing the spout.  I do not rinse the press out while it is hot to avoid cracking.

This press is nice looking and has a silver, metal cage around it that protects the glass a little bit. It has 4 legs that so far seem very stable. The handle is attached to the cage. The glass carafe can slip out for cleaning but it is snug so no worries about it falling out while it is tipped. So far I wash it by hand with the cage on. It is hard to get the glass out when dry so I suggest getting it soapy first. The glass is very fragile so do this with care. Unlike the glass, I immediately spray out the plunger while hot before the coffee can dry to it and clog it.

I can only compare this press to my small one since I have not used another large press other than this one, so this is fairly limited as a review. But comparing it to the small one where I would rate that one an A, this one would be a A-. The coffee is excellent but you have to be very careful with the glass, watch the position of the pour spout, and have a little more powder in your coffee (since this post, courser ground coffee has taken care of most of the powder). Generally not a big deal unless you are not a morning person. I am not. 😉 Likely this is an issue with any press this size. If it is, then I definitely recommend this press.

May 15, 2009: Now having used this press more often, I would definitely recommend it. You still need to be careful of the glass but the powder in the coffee is taken care of with a courser ground. It is very good coffee. Also, wrap a towel around the pot to keep it warm. The towel works better than I thought it would.

If you would like to see more on how a french press is put together and generally how to use it, read my post about my little press. https://virtuallyamy.wordpress.com/2008/09/14/french-press-review/

Also, I do respond to comments on my old posts.

3 Comments »

  1. A 12 cupper? What is the circumference?

    You are almost motivating me to pull my regular size Bodum out. Except I don’t have coarse grind coffee and I don’t like cleaning the thing.

    Did you ever get the funky Bodum mugs? They came with my set. I swear I watched Star Trek:TNG years ago and Picard had one of the mugs for his tea.

    Comment by Kari — November 20, 2008 @ 10:15 pm | Reply

  2. I have been searching high and low for the mugs you are speaking of do you still have them?

    Comment by austin — November 30, 2008 @ 9:06 pm | Reply

  3. They are at Amazon.com. Search for Bodum Coffee Mugs and they should come up. 🙂

    Comment by virtuallyamy — December 1, 2008 @ 12:14 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

