Random Bits of Projects

October 24, 2008

Knitting: My First Fingerless Mitts

Filed under: Knitting,reviews — virtuallyamy @ 5:32 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Pattern: Berry Hill Fingerless Mittens by Liz Thompson. (Free through Ravelry.com-read my post about it if you have not heard of it).

Needle: US 4 / 3.5 mm (4 double pointed needles)
Yarn: Malabrigo Yarn Silky Merino (Wool)
How much?

1 skeins = 150.0 yards (137.2m) Some left over. Plenty for longer cuffs than in the picture. (I goofed on length)
Colorway: 1102
medium/easy-to medium in difficulty.
The colors do not come out nice in the pictures.

Finally, I finished these. These are really a fast knit overall. But these were a first for me and I had to learn a few things.
Among the mistakes I made was not measuring on my hand as I went. I, for some reason, assumed they would fit. But the pattern seems to be made for small hands. I have long hands. So I had to go back and make a few adjustments.
I also miscounted and made the cuffs shorter than called for.
Finally, I knitted one tighter than the other. I was so annoyed with the first one I kind of zoomed through the second.
But other than my own mistakes, I like the gloves. I think the pattern of the cuffs and edges would show up better with a plainer yarn. It is a pretty design. Also the yarn I used gets fuzzy with all the wool.
The only issue I had with the pattern itself was that the number of stitches you cast on does not allow for the pattern to continue around nicely. You do the stitches in sets of 3 but the number cast does not divide by 3 so you have a line going up part of the glove where you had to begin the next round as a duplicate stitch. Not very noticeable though and if I knit these again, I will adjust for that. A few extra stitches would fit my hand better anyway.

So overall an easy, fast glove if it is not your first time doing this sort of thing. But if these are your first, you can do it. Just pay more attention than I did. 😉

The changes I made for a longer had were the following:
At Round 52, I added 3 more knitted rounds.
After Round 60, I repeated Rounds 53-56 one more time. Next time I may then add on another set of 57-60 after that.
Do not knit your gloves too horribly tight. 🙂

To see something else I have knitted, check out my blue crayfish that I knitted.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

