Random Bits of Projects

September 14, 2008

Tzatziki!! Something To Do With Your Yogurt

Last update: May, 2009. Slight modification for a dip.

I have been making my own yogurt for awhile and now that I can make a good batch consistently, I need recipes on what to do with it. I am not great in the kitchen so I had to find something I could figure out. I love Tzatziki sauce in Greek food so I thought I would give this a try.

I found a site with a simple recipe, Anghelika’s Tsatsiki by Michael Chu, using greek style yogurt. You can probably use regular yogurt as well but it will be runny.

This site has useful pictures and step-by-step instructions on how to make the sauce.

The ingredients are:

Anghelika’s Tsatsiki

  • 1 pint (470 mL) Greek-style yogurt
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 medium cucumber
  • 1 Tbs. (15 mL ?) red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. (15 mL ?) extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp. (1.5 g) table salt
  • dill (optional but yummy)

Please visit  http://www.cookingforengineers.com/recipe/188/Anghelikas-Tsatsiki-Tzatziki for the instructions. If the link should no longer function, leave a comment and I will add it here.

I made this recipe today. Mine did not turn out runny like the author suggested it would. I think because I use homemade Greek style yogurt. I remove more whey than what you get from the store. Mine turned out delightfully thick, even after mixing in the ingredients. Great for dipping or spreading. The flavor was very nice even before the suggested day for it to sit. The red wine vinegar added some zing to it. I added a little extra but otherwise I followed the recipe. The garlic is strong using 2 cloves. If you love garlic this will not be a problem, otherwise try it with 1 clove first. I made part of my batch with fresh dill mixed in as well, which also turned out nice. I am thinking of adding sun dried tomatoes too for a tasty spread.

Note: After waiting the suggested day, the garlic was much less potent. The two cloves were perfect. I plan to leave the cucumber more chunky for the next batch. But the whole thing turned out delicious.

May, 2009: I now like to use an entire cucumber. I shave and drain  half of the cucumber as suggested but not quite as fine. For the other half, I also peel it and remove the seeds. But this time I cut it in larger chunks (knuckle thick-depends what you like). You cannot drain the water from it but it works fine. It is really good this way as a dip. I also soak the garlic and the shredded cucumber in the oil and vinegar for a few minutes before finishing so the veggies can soak up some of the flavor. This gives nice little pockets of zing in the sauce.

I have also heard that some people cut slices of cucumber and use those to dip into the sauce rather than pita or chips. Sounds yummy!

The comments section of that website has people saying that they use lemon juice instead of vinegar which I hope to try next. But I do like this recipe-especially for a dip.

If you cannot find Greek style yogurt, which is thicker than regular, you can strain out the extra fluid from regular, plain yogurt from the store. Just be sure the ingredients do not include gelatin or it will not work. For instructions visit my blog at https://virtuallyamy.wordpress.com/2008/08/01/yogurt-yogurt-cheese-greek-style-and-how/

The method for draining the whey using cheese cloth is shown about 3/4 of the way down the posting. There are other suggestions on how to do it as well. Or you can entirely make your own yogurt with the directions also on that site. You can make your own incubator or buy one for it. It is worth the time for wonderful tasting yogurt where you can control the thickness and the ingredients going into it. Yogurt cheese is a wonderful thing too.

Here I am showing the finished sauce tilted sideways to show how thick I have it. This sauce is wonderful when you keep it thick. If your greek yogurt starts out runny, try to drian it a bit. It is worth it. Yummy!!

The website with instructions does a wonderful job with pictures so I will probably not add many more here.


1 Comment »

  1. […] Tzatziki!! Something To Do With Your Yogurt French Press Review Mint Tea: Grow Your Own Betta Fish-Look at the Bubbles! Birds: My Parrotlet […]

    Pingback by Virtuallyamy Gives Random Bits « fnerd.com — September 15, 2008 @ 12:45 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

