Random Bits of Projects

September 14, 2008

French Press Review

If you like coffee and would like to try a different way to fix it that brings out the flavor, consider a French Press. It is very easy to use and does not take much more time than drip coffee makers or maybe even the same amount of time, depending on how strong you like it. I find the coffee tastes a bit like coffee with a hint of espresso.

Here I review my own French press.

How to use:

First you add the coffee (anything but fine ground or it will clog the mesh) to the press and boil water (an electric kettle works very well, especially at work).

Next you pour the water into the press and put on the lid (do not push down the plunger). A suggestion by a reader, Muig, is to stir after pouring in the water and I agree. I tended to pour the water from up high so it agitates the grounds well (too lazy to stir in the morning) but stirring is more effective.

Let it sit for the length of time to suite your taste. The longer it sits, the stronger the coffee. I tend to let mine sit about 5 minutes or so. Sometimes I forget it and it sits longer but I still like it-but I do like stronger coffee.

Then you push down the plunger slowly.

Finally, you pour out the coffee into your mug and add whatever you usually add, if anything.

Right now I use a small press since my husband uses the drip and is the first one up in the morning. He is kind enough to put on the coffee first thing. When I am moving around I may treat myself to a cup of coffee from the press.

Review:

This press was a gift to me about 4 years ago and it is still working fine. I no longer have the box but hopefully I can give you an idea what one it is if you search for it.

  • Brand: Bodum
  • Size: Makes one regular sized coffee mug of coffee. I do not know how much fluid it holds but the first picture has it next to a standard coffee cup and an espresso cup to give you an idea of size. This will fill that largeer coffee cup. Not sure of how many espresso cups.

It has a “glass” body and a plastic holder. You can remove the glass part for washing. The top is plastic as well as the parts that hold the metal filters together.

The picture above shows the French press taken apart. The press itself can come apart even more for further cleaning but that is not shown.

Some reviews of Bodum complain that the glass is too fragile. It does have that feel but I have yet to break it. I have put it through the dish washer as well as hand washing it. I find it best to rinse the metal mesh part of the filters right after pouring out the coffee. If the grounds do not dry to the filter parts, it is easy to rinse right off fast. I wait until the glass has cooled a bit before rinsing the glass portion. I may be over cautious there though.

The plastic parts are sturdy and I have not had any problems with wear so far.

As long as I do not over-fill the glass canister, I do not have problems with the grounds escaping. No floaters for me! The mesh does a fine job pushing down the grounds and keeping them there.

The plastic holder holding the glass canister is flat on the bottom and slightly flared so it is not easy to tip over. I have seen ones with legs and they do not look stable, though they are cute.

Another bonus of a french press over drip is that cleaning is so much easier. The drip makers do not get the regular cleaning and then you have to go through such a process of running cleaner through the machine and then flushing it out several times. The creeping cruds that come out is disturbing.

The two pictures above is a closer look at the press itself.

It is a simple little thing that does a fine job. I would recommend it.

I now have a large press as well. Go here to read about that one.

****To read about another type of coffee maker visit my Stove-top Espresso Maker posting.

6 Comments »

  1. […] Something To Do With Your Yogurt French Press Review Mint Tea: Grow Your Own Betta Fish-Look at the Bubbles! Birds: My […]

    Pingback by Virtuallyamy Gives Random Bits « fnerd.com — September 15, 2008 @ 12:55 pm | Reply

  2. We have a Bodum but it sits in the cupboard in its box with the matching cups. Will have to dig it out sometime and try again.

    How do you normally wash it? Handwash or dishwasher?

    Comment by Kari — September 18, 2008 @ 3:50 am | Reply

  3. If you like a french press, try a aeropress. its even better. Much better.
    You get to use finer ground coffee (more surface area) and you press at about 4 atmospheres that gets flavor out like an espresso machine does.

    Comment by Gregory Cohen — October 21, 2008 @ 2:59 am | Reply

  4. I like your reviews! I too have used the Bodum french press, or “cafetiere”. I’ve broken the glass of 2 of the smaller ones like yours, but my larger 8 cup version has lasted forever. It can easily be used to make just 1 or 2 cups. I recommend stirring the coffee briskly just after adding the water as I think it improves the flavour.

    Comment by Muig — October 23, 2008 @ 9:19 pm | Reply

  5. Thank you Muig!
    I agree about the stirring! That works very well. Yummy! I hope to get a larger press in the future. Much more practical and I recently got my husband to agree that coffee tastes better this way. (yay!)

    Comment by virtuallyamy — October 23, 2008 @ 9:49 pm | Reply

  6. In response to comment #3,
    Hi Greg! That is the first I have heard of one of those. Neat! I now have 3 coffee pots I use so I doubt I will invest any time soon, but I will definitely check it out. 🙂

    Comment by virtuallyamy — October 23, 2008 @ 9:50 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

