Random Bits of Projects

August 15, 2008

Scary Baby Names? Add your input!

Filed under: Uncategorized — virtuallyamy @ 2:29 am
Tags: , , ,

Many people I know are popping out babies lately. It seems to go in waves. So part of the fun is finding out what they will name the victim…err child. Usually they are pretty standard. But sometimes you wonder.

I am not having kids but I was thinking of some things a person might want to consider when naming one-especially after a few real doozies I have heard of lately. I am not posting them here for their sake. Heck, they may read this and I will get an ear full! Ok, I am not posting them here for MY sake. But Star Wars comes to mind for one of them.

I have run across several blogs on names to pick. How about names to avoid?

Many of us has heard of the poor girl formerly known as Talula Does the Hula…..In Hawaii. http://www.slate.com/id/2196204/ This site also lists adults that try to change their name to the bizzar. Well at least these are adults. Unstable, but adults. Worth reading though. It is like a train wreck that you just cannot look away from. Know of more cases? Leave us the links! I will add more when I come across them. I have also heard of Sex Spawn for a name as well but I forget the site where I read it.

Try this site for inappropriate Saint names for kids:

http://pileoflaundry.wordpress.com/2008/06/03/bad-suggestions/

It is actually funny. 🙂

This site itself needs rewritten. But I would still love input if you read further. Thanks!

Some things to consider when picking a name:

  • How will this name get changed in school? Will this name be easy fodder for other kids to pick on your child? Take the name you are considering and think about it from the point of view of a little kid. How can you make it into a joke? Is it easy to do? Then pick another name maybe. Kidscan be  mean and your kid may end up either mean as well or dreading life. If you cannot come up with any variations, run it by actual children. They are creative.
  • Spelling. Sometimes a parent loves a common name so he or she decides it should be spelled different to make it different from the million other Amys (Thank goodness mine is the common spelling-I know Amys just give up and let it get spelled wrong), Michaels, Johns and so on. Understandable. But consider that your child will have to spell his or her name for people and constantly correct it for the rest of his or her life. Easy to do if you just say may name is ______ but with an E. But what about major changes? The name will only be different from all of the others if it gets read.
  • I want to be REALLy different! I will make up a name!Oh dear. Really think how this will effect your child. Already the previous two things should be considered. But stay away from obvious inspirations. Orangejello comes to mind.
  • How about names common to other countries than my own?Fine and interesting. The above still holds. Can people pronounce this name in the country your child will live in? Will it be so bizzare that the kid will resort to a nickname instead? Does the name from that country have a different meaning in your country? (Did I mention Star Wars?) Unfortunately for all of these you do have to consider the life of the child living with other people.
  • I want to name my child after something important to me such as my favorite athlete, character from a book or television show, food, etc.Though the gesture is nice, this may not ever be as important to the child as it was to and lead to redicule. Or the name will be very “wierd” but understandable at the time of the naming because said athlete is popular then. But in 10 years it wil just be a name. Napoleon Solo came from a book for instance. This person now preferrs to be called Fuzzy instead.
  • I have several relatives after which I want to name my child. Great. Maybe stick to a first and middle name. I have seen people mash names together into a bizzare, freakish mush so they can fit 8 relatives. Just have more kids if this is so important.
  • This name is soooooo adorable and cute! What a great baby name! Remember this child will be an adult someday. Consider what it will sound like as an adult and when you are off of the hormones.
  • I love ___________ for a nickname so I want to name my child the name that this nickname comes from but that name is awful. Maybe just name the kid the nickname? If you like Bill and not William, then name the child Bill. Then he can be Billy and not Willy. Though I think that is kind of cute if you do not consider what else a willy can be.
  • Read the comments for more. Hey! It’s interactive!

I am sure the list can go on and on…..here is where you come in!

  1. Give us a name(s) you have actually heard of in person that you found scary. The rules are that it has to be a name from a person in your country. Names from other countries may be normal there but seem wierd to you. Do not make this an issue of race or I will delete your comment. Be nice.
  2. And/or give us other things that parents should think of when picking a name. I just threw out a few here.
  3. If you are responding to another’s comment, be sure we know whose it is. 
  4. Finally, let us know what country/region you are from. It gives us a better idea why you may think a name is scary.
  5. Finally, be nice. Sarcasm is fantastic, just keep away from the hate stuff.

Be sure to read comments for more suggestions on avoiding names or even names themselves. All in fun.

3 Comments »

  1. Archibald – such an old sounding name for a baby! I’m from the UK. When considering a name, you should also consider the flow. It should roll off the tongue and not sound awkward.

    Comment by Baby Names — August 15, 2008 @ 9:04 am | Reply

  2. In response to above comment:

    Archibald! I guess Baldy would work for a baby and in late adulthood. Ha
    Good point on names rolling off of the tongue. One should not get hurt trying to say a name. 😉

    Comment by virtuallyamy — August 15, 2008 @ 3:03 pm | Reply

  3. JW has decided that he and Laura will only have children if he can name their son Wolfgang. What a dork!

    Comment by Becky — September 5, 2008 @ 2:21 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

